You are here: Home » India Breaking News Today » New Goa CM Pramod Sawant wins floor test, gets 20 MLAs support

New Goa CM Pramod Sawant wins floor test, gets 20 MLAs support

Newly sworn in Goa Chief Minister Pramod Sawant won the floor test on Wednesday, after 20 MLAs voted in his favour in the state assembly.

Mridula Sinha, Governor convened the special session at 11:30 AM today. The strength of the 40-member house was reduced to 36 due to death of Manohar Parrikar, BJP legislator Francis D’Souza and resignations of two Congress lawmakers Subhash Shirodkar and Dayanand Sopte.

The BJP government claimed that it has 21 legislators to support the new CM – 12 from BJP, 3 each of allies of Goa Forward Party and Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party and 3 independents.

BJP went through tough negotiations with its allied and under new agreement, Sudin Dhavalikar of MGP and Vijay Sardesai of GFP joined the government as two new Deputy Chief Ministers. They initially demanded CM’s post.

The Congress has 14 MLAs and is the single largest party in Goa. There is also an NCP legislator in House.

Pramod Sawant was sworn in as the new Goa Chief Minister along with his 12 ministers on Tuesday after the demise of Manohar Parrikar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *