Manohar Parrikar sworn in as Goa Chief Minister

Manohar Parrikar was on Tuesday sworn in as the Chief Minister of Goa for the fourth time. Parrikar earlier resigned as Defence Minister, and was administered the oath of office by Goa Governor Mridula Sinha.

Prominent BJP leaders including BJP national president Amit Shah, Union Ministers M. Venkaiah Naidu, Nitin Gadkari, J.P. Nadda and other dignitaries were present on the occasion.

Nine other ministers were also sworn in – Sudin Dhavalikar and Manohar Azgaonkar of the Maharashtrawdi Gomantak Party, Vijai Sardesai, Vinod Palienkar and Jayesh Salgaonkar of the Goa Forward, Francis D’Souza, Pandurang Madkaikar of the BJP and Independent legislators Govind Gawde and Rohan Khaunte.

Nitin Gadkari and Amit Shah at Manohar Parrikar's swearing-in ceremony as Goa CM.

Nitin Gadkari and Amit Shah at Manohar Parrikar’s swearing-in ceremony as Goa CM.

Tweeting his congratulations, Prime Minister Narendra Modi wrote, “Congratulations to @manoharparrikar and his team on being sworn in. My best wishes in taking Goa to new heights of progress.”

Even as Manohar Parrikar took oath, the Supreme Court on Tuesday directed the government to take a floor test in the Goa Assembly on Thursday. The court order followed intervention of the Congress legislature party in the state assembly, which wanted a stay on Goa Governor Mridula Sinha’s decision appointing Manohar Parrikar as Goa Chief Minister.

In the Parliament, the Congress hit out at the BJP alleging it was “not accepting people’s mandate” in Manipur and Goa, by staking claim to form governments in the two states though the BJP was not the single largest party.

Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, hit back saying that the Congress party complains a lot. He chided the party stating that the Goa Governor Mridula Sinha could not have invited the ‘minority’ of Congress MLAs to form the government.

“The Congress did not even submit a claim to the Governor. It had only the support of 17 MLAs. In the face of claim of the 21 MLAs led by Manohar Parrikar, the Governor could not have invited the minority of 17 MLAs to form the Government,” Arun Jaitley wrote in a Facebook post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *