Assembly Election 2017 Results: BJP wins UP, Uttarakhand, Congress rules in Punjab

Assembly Elections 2017 Results : BJP continued its impressive run in elections in India. They claimed a comprehensive two-third majority in Uttar Pradesh and a solid victory in Uttarakhand. Congress, on the other hand, won in Punjab and claimed most seats in Goa as well as Manipur in the country’s biggest mandate.

Following the results, BJP President Amit Shah told the media, “The historic mandate given to the BJP will give a new direction to Indian politics. It will end the politics of caste, dynasty and appeasement.”

In the 403-member Uttar Pradesh assembly, the BJP won 324 seats on a back of an aggressive campaign from Prime Minister Narendra Modi. The Samajwadi Party-Congress alliance won just 55 seats while Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party only got 19 seats. UP Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav handed over his resignation to the State Governor after defeat while Mayawati alleged tampering of Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) by the BJP.

Celebrations at the BJP headquarters

Celebrations at the BJP headquarters. Photo courtesy of BJP.

In Uttarakhand, BJP won as many as 57 of the 70 seats, Congress managed only 11. “It is a monumental setback. We are disappointed with Uttar Pradesh,” Congress spokesman Sanjay Jha admitted.

Congress did better in Goa, winning 18 seats out of 40. BJP managed only 13 seats. However, both parties have claimed to form the government. Goa Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar, lost his assembly seat and resigned.

In Manipur, Congress finished with 26 seats, and BJP won 22. Both parties fell short of majority though. Congress managed to win hands down in Punjab, crushing the ruling Shiromani Akali Dal-BJP combine. Congress won an impressive 77 of the 117 seats. AAP was far behind with 22 seats while the Akali Dal-BJP combine managed a paltry 18.

Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi congratulated Prime Minister Narendra Modi. “I congratulate Shri Narendra Modi and the BJP on their victory in Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand,” he tweeted. Narendra Modi replied, “Thank you. Long live democracy!”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar